Phi Kappa Psi to Expand at University of Utah

Indianapolis, Sept. 7, 2016 - Phi Kappa Psi was recently invited to start a colony at the University of Utah in the fall of 2019.

Univ. of Utah_Colony.png

"We had a number of very impressive presentations from each of our interest groups," said Skyler Walker, IFC President. "After careful deliberation with the IFC Expansion Committee, we are excited to invite Phi Kappa Psi to colonize."

Founded in 1850, the University of Utah is located in Salt Lake City, UT. It offers more than 80 undergraduate degrees and over 400 clubs and student organizations, including the fraternity and sorority life community. The community consists of nine fraternities, two multicultural organizations and six sororities.

"This is an excellent university with an outstanding Greek community," said Director of Expansion, Benny Rohloff (Iowa State '11). "Over the last couple of years they have been very intentional about adding new groups and we are ecstatic to be one of the two organizations selected."

As part of the established advisory team model, the expansion team will be looking to recruit at least five advisory team members to work with the men. These individuals are not required to be members of Phi Kappa Psi; in fact, non-members are encouraged to inquire into the opportunity. The involvement of these advisors will be critical to creating a chapter culture where student development matters. Anyone interested in becoming an advisor should contact Director of Advisory Teams, Matt Kifle.

The Fraternity looks forward to establishing a successful colony at Utah. This is the first colony Phi Kappa Psi has ever established in the state of Utah. To recommend a current Utah student for the new colony or to learn more about the expansion, please contact Director of Expansion, Benny Rohloff.

The Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity is a 501(c)(7) association of men of integrity who strive to develop the individual in his intellect, in his involvement in the community and in his faith. The Fraternity was founded on February 19, 1852 at Jefferson College by William Henry Letterman and Charles Page Thomas Moore.  It currently has 100 chapters across the United States, with over 6,500 undergraduate members and over 80,000 living alumni.